If you have forgotten your current encryption key, you can proceed anyway and force a reset to the new key.


To protect your backups from an unauthorized user changing the Encryption Key, backups to your Offsite Locations / Network Shares will be disabled until you re-authenticate them from the Backup Locations screen. 


Once you have entered the Windows credentials to change the Encryption Key; here's how to re-authenticate to your Backup Locations:


  1. Head over to the [Setup] > [Backup Locations]

    You will see something similar to the below disconnected backup locations:



  2. In order to re-authenticate your Backup Locations, you can click on the [Edit] (pencil icon) for each of your locations:



    Network Paths

    You will be required to enter the Domain/Machine, Username and Password. Once entered, click [Test Connection] and [Finish]


    Azure Storage Account

    You will need to re-enter the Connection String, which you can get from your Azure portal account. Click [Modify] and enter the Connection String, click [Test Connection] and [Finish]


    Amazon S3

    You will need to re-enter the Region, Access Key and Secret Access Key which you can get from your Amazon S3 account. Once entered, click [Test Connection] and [Finish]


    Wasabi Cloud Storage Account

    You will need to re-enter the Region, Access Key and Secret Access Key which you can get from your Wasabi account. Once entered, click [Test Connection] and [Finish]


    Altaro Offsite Server

    You will be required to enter the Altaro Username and Password. Once entered, click [Test Connection] and [Finish]


    Altaro Offsite Server [CMC Managed by an MSP]

    Contact our support team for help to re-authenticate.